My God Given Mother

When I was about 7 years old, I met a distant cousin of mine named Judy. That Thanksgiving I met all the distant cousins. Then I started spending 2 weeks in the summer with Judy’s family. Little did I know at that time that my life was being “mapped out” for me. My Grandparents had told me that if anything were to happen to them I was to go live with Judy and her family. 

In the summer of 1980, I did just that. I was suddenly part of a family. There were 3 boys around my age, and their mother and father. I was not used to this. Then there were rules and I had to do my school work. My biological brothers were 40 minutes to 8 hours away from me now. I must have cried a lot those first couple of years. 

Eventually, I understood what was happening. As much as I prayed for my father to get better or my mother to come back to life, God had already answered my prayers. He gave me a stable family with a mother and a father and 3 brothers that I could grow up with and cousins who really spent time with me. God had my life mapped out and I just had to trust his guidance. 

So, I tell people I have my mom and my God Given Mom whom I call Aunt Judy. She was there when I had a fever, held me through the heart breaks, held me through the deaths, and cheered me on through every success. My mom probably told God to choose her to be my second mother. I thank God all the time for listening to her for that. 

Happy Mother’s day to all the mothers and God Given mothers !Image

One thought on “My God Given Mother

  1. If I can see through the tears, I remember those years too. You remember crying, and I remember a little girl of remarkable strength… you have always had that. I’m so blessed that God led you to us.

    Much love to you!

Comments are closed.